Skip to main content

Uzma Haque Syeda

PhD Student


Office Location

440 Huntington Avenue
302 West Village H
Boston, MA 02115


  • BSc in Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh

About Me

  • Hometown: Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Field of Study: Data Visualization
  • PhD Advisor: Michelle Borkin

What are the specifics of your graduate education (thus far)?

After receiving my bachelors in Bangladesh, I joined Northeastern University in Fall’18 to pursue my PhD in Computer Science. My concentration will be data visualization.

What are your research interests in a bit more detail? Is your current academic/research path what you always had in mind for yourself, or has it evolved somewhat? If so, how/why?

My research interests are in data visualization and Human-Computer Interaction. I want to apply data visualization to solve problems in different domains of research (education, health etc.). My desire to pursue a path where I can involve in multidisciplinary research has lead me to join this department even though it was not my area in bachelors.

What’s one problem you’d like to solve with your research/work?

I want to explore how data visualization can be used to address real-world problems and help people in different domains in terms of how effectively they perceive the data and make better use out of them.

What aspect of what you do is most interesting/fascinating to you? What aspects of your research (findings, angles, problems you’re solving) might surprise others?

We live in an era where every second an astronomical amount of data is being produced. Different datasets have a different story to tell and the better we understand and deal with these, the more are our chances of success, be it any field or domain. Data visualization is powerful in the sense that it is among the first steps to better perceive data and understand the story behind it.

What are your research/career goals, going forward?

My ultimate goal is to use my research to help a population of people who have trouble fitting in (ASD people, handicapped people etc.). I do not want to span big but rather concentrate on a small group and help them using my research. Along the road, I want to improve my research skills and be a better researcher by the day.

Where did you grow up/spend the most defining years of your childhood/young adulthood?

I grew up in Dhaka, Bangladesh with my family consisting of my parents, two elder sisters, my brother-in-laws and my niece and nephews.

Where did you study for your undergraduate degree? Any reason in particular behind your choice (a program you were excited about, a city you love, a researcher you wanted to work with)?

I got my undergraduate degree from the University of Dhaka, a prestigious university in Bangladesh. My reasons for choosing this institute was its rich heritage and background. Apart from having a good academic standing, this university plays a major role in the history of Bangladesh.