Skip to main content


Office Location

805 Columbus Avenue
626 Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex (ISEC)
Boston, MA 02120

Mailing Address

Northeastern University
ATTN: Cristina Nita-Rotaru, 435 ISEC
360 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA 02115

Research Interests

  • Distributed systems and network security
  • Insider-resilient systems
  • Analytics for security and fault-tolerance
  • Automated testing and verification


  • PhD, Johns Hopkins University
  • MS, Politechnica University of Bucharest, Romania
  • BS, Politechnica University of Bucharest, Romania


Cristina Nita-Rotaru is a professor of computer science at the Khoury College of Computer Sciences and a founding member of the Northeastern University Cybersecurity and Privacy Institute. Prior to joining Northeastern, she was a faculty member in the Department of Computer Science at Purdue University. Her research lies at the intersection of security, distributed systems, and computer networks. Her overarching goal is to design and build secure and resilient distributed systems and network protocols.

Nita-Rotaru received the National Science Foundation Career Award in 2006. She is a recipient of the Purdue College of Science Research Award in 2013, Purdue Excellence in Research Award, Seeds for Success in 2012, Purdue College of Science Leadership Award in 2012, Purdue College of Science Undergraduate Advising Award in 2008, and Purdue Teaching for Tomorrow Award in 2007.

She served on the technical program committee of numerous conferences in security, networking and distributed systems (IEEE S&P, USENIX Security, ACM CCS, NDSS, ACM Wisec, IEEE ICDCS, IEEE/IFIP DSN, ACM SIGCOMM, ACM CoNEXT, IEEE INFOCOM, IEEE ICNP, WWW). She was an assistant director for CERIAS (2011 – 2013). She is a member of the steering committee of ACM Wisec and IEEE/IFIP DSN, and a member of the IFIP Working Group on Dependable Computing and Fault-tolerance.

She was an associate editor for Elsevier Computer Communications (2008 – 2011), IEEE Transactions on Computers (2011 – 2014), ACM Transactions on Information Systems Security (2009 – 2013), Computer Networks (2012 – 2014), IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing (2011 – 2016), and IEEE Transactions on Dependable and Secure Systems (2013 – 2017).