Skip to main content


Office Location

440 Huntington Avenue
266 West Village H
Boston, MA 02115


  • BS in Mathematics and Computer Science, Tulane University

About Me


Lucianna Kiffer is a PhD student in the Algorithms and Networks program at Northeastern University’s Khoury College of Computer Sciences, advised by Professors  Alan Mislove and Rajmohan Rajaraman. A native of Belo Horizonte, Brazil, Lucianna earned her bachelor’s degree in both mathematics and computer science from Tulane University.

Lucianna’s research areas include Algorithms and Theory and Systems and Networks. She is a member of the Social Networks Group. Lucianna has an interest in peer-to-peer networks and is currently working on a project that utilizes blockchain technology.

What are the specifics of your graduate education (thus far)?

Professor Rajaraman, Professor Mislove and I have begun a project exploring Ethereum; a blockchain-based decentralized virtual machine. At this point in the research we are generally looking into scalability concerns involving Ethereum’s network, measurement based questions about the network, and generally what can be built on the Ethereum network and networks like it.

What are your research interests?

I am interested in peer-to-peer networks and distributed computing both in application and theory. Computer science was a single class I had intended to take my freshman year of college while I studied chemistry and it somehow became what I want to study for the rest of my life, while math has always been a passion of mine.

What’s one problem you’d like to solve with your research/work?

I would like to work on a solution to one of the scalability concerns of blockchain networks/technologies.

What aspect of what you do is most interesting?

One of the most interesting aspects of distributed networks for me is the amount of information of the overall network that can be propagated through minimal communication and/or in scenarios where no trust is assumed between parties in the network.

What are your research/career goals, going forward?

I am interested in pursuing industry research in the future.

Where did you spend your most defining years?

I was born in Belo Horizonte, Brazil and moved to the U.S. when I was 8. I have spent the subsequent years living around the country from Colorado to California, Arkansas, Louisiana, Maryland and now Massachusetts.